Writing out Realities

So….., I’ve been thinking, anyone who says the moving picture entertainment products are more…. wait, who calls them that anyways, I’ll start again. Anyone who thinks or says that movies are more expressive or flexible than books has obviously not read anything yet.

I’ll give some examples to back my point here… apart from the obvious, off course.

In writing, how, to be exact, something is put, determines the way you see it, and as self explanatory as that is, you’d be surprised how subtle it could be. Let’s say in the description of a particular male character, after stating the more meaningful hair colour…complexion..blah blah blah, something like


“…..and a particularly furtive zit on his right cheek.”

Let’s compare that with

“…..with a tiny growth splat in the middle of his right cheek”


No further explanations needed here…

I will go farther than that, with a more complex example.


“She descended in light steps, graceful in movement, silent feet placement in tandem with the invoked silence from the guests below…”

And…

“She walked down the stairs, eyes fixed on the back wall, taking small progressive steps because of her unfamiliarity with the heels”


Both seemingly describe the same thing, but even the point of view changes alot. I, and some other people who share similar interests with me, would be able to extend this list beyond rational need, but due to my surprising possession of rational judgement, I’ll stop here, my point, I hope, already made.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment